Baked egg muffins

I know, it’s late coming, can I tell the truth and say it went plum out of my head? Oops!

Anyway, I threw these together after seeing loads of similar recipes on the most addictive website in the world, Pinterest (run, save yourselves!!). For an extra 5 mins tops, it makes a gorgeous and tasty twist on the usual fried egg brekkie! I made enough for 9 mini muffins, which is 3 regular size muffins. Play around with the recipe, (I plan to add red pepper next time!) and let me know how you do!

First off, put streaky bacon (I used 4 slices) in a cold oven, and turn the heat up to 180o (did you know putting bacon in a cold oven makes it crispier? yum!)

Grate some of your favourite cheese using the smallest size grate (I used some strong, sharp cheddar)

(I’m staring at the word grate and I’m convinced it looks wrong. hmmm)

Spray some oil over/grease your muffin pan.

(That sounds a bit wrong!)

When your bacon is at your preferred stage of crispy, remove from oven (but keep the oven on!) and transfer to a cold plate. It’ll let it cool quicker.

Empty an egg into each muffin.. hole? space? thingy? You know what I mean!

Roughly chop the cooled bacon into small pieces, and add to each egg.

Sprinkle some cheese on top, and some herbs if you wish (I used rosemary, I *think*)

Put in the oven for 10-15 mins.

Use a fork to ease the muffins out of the pan, and plate up!

Enjoy!

20130315-142121.jpg

Leave a Reply

